Stone Vertical Epic


Tillbaka till de mörka… Det får räcka med ett kort Julaftonsmellanspel för Pilsnern och Lagerbrygderna…

Stone brewing har jag stött på förut och minns det med välbehag. Jag har dock inte riktigt koll på vilken utav varianterna jag tog mig an den gången. Tror nog att det var Imperial Russian Stout. Nu, däremot, är jag riktigt säker på att jag sitter och läppjar på en Vertical Epic. En helt OK mörk, ja kolsvart, kryddad ale. Mörkt som synden, lagom beskt, en kaffe/chokladton som sitter som en smäck och.. ja, doften har jag ingen koll på pga en enveten förkylning som jag verkar få dras med ett tag till.

Så, jag gör som jag brukar. Jag tar hjälp med att beskriva ölet. Den här gången av ”Simply Beer” som med poetisk stil och finess säger så här om det mörka guldet:

Appearance:

Black! No light what so ever comes through this beer which sits under a creamy dense cappuccino colored head. Some petty significant lacing going on, the foam just wants to cling to the side of the glass.

Aroma:

Honestly I was expecting a ton of hops on the aroma, but I was surprised. The chocolate malt really was the dominate aroma. There are some underlying citrus aroma, but it was very subduded. Tiny wafts of vanilla once and awhile, but a very conservative aroma. As the beer warmed up to around 60°, the oak started to come through along with some clove spice.

Taste:

Wow, what a big beer, so much flavor! Right up front chocolate and vanilla, jab, jab! Followed by toasted malty malasses sweetness, right hook! Bam, big spicy oaky presence, Upper Cut! Finishing with a long dry bittering heat, KO! Sorry for lame fight commentary, but this beer really shook up my tastebuds, beat them up, tossed them around, and my taste buds were asking for more. The Spiciness and oakiness in the middle mouth really battled with each other with the spiciness winning, especially as the beer got warmer.

Overall Impression:

A very interesting porter, one I can’t wait to try again in a couple of hears. Intense robust flavors really make this beer, but it needs some time for the heat to mellow out in this beer. This is going to be one kick ass beer in a couple of years. If you have one hold onto it, if you don’t try to find one and hold onto it. The more you drink the more intense this beer gets.

Tror ni att Fröding hade uttryckt sig vackrare?

Vertical Epic är inte outstanding men helt OK. Jag har ungefär halva flaskan kvar att njuta och ska ge mig på att klippa lite handbollsfilmer. De kommer att bli grymma!

/Stefan S

~ av tourtrappist på 25 december 2009.

Kommentera

 
